Seven Researchers Named Boettcher Investigators

Seven Researchers Named Boettcher Investigators

Back row (l-r): Kara Mould, M. Cecilia Caino, Seonil Kim Front row (l-r): Neelanjan Mukherjee, Robert Dietz, Tara Cepon Robins Not pictured: Kelly Sullivan

DENVER, May 29, 2019 — Seven biomedical researchers at Colorado institutions have been selected as Boettcher Investigators, marking the 10th class to receive research funding through the Boettcher Foundation’s Webb-Waring Biomedical Research Awards program.

The awards support promising, early career scientific researchers, allowi­ng them to establish their independent research and make it competitive for major federal and private awards. Recipients are awarded $235,000 in grant funding to sustain up to three years of biomedical research.

“Our 10th class of Boettcher Investigators represents Colorado’s most dynamic emerging scientists who are committed to improving human health,” said Katie Kramer, president and CEO of the Boettcher Foundation. “The Boettcher Foundation is honored to support them at this critical juncture in their research careers.”

Including the class of 2019, 68 Boettcher Investigators have received funding through the Webb-Waring program. Since 2010, Boettcher Investigators have gone on to earn a collective $65 million in subsequent independent research funding. Ninety-five percent of award recipients remain at Colorado research institutions, advancing the Foundation’s mission of keeping Colorado’s top scientific minds in the state.

“The Boettcher Foundation’s Webb-Waring program has been an important addition to Colorado’s biomedical research landscape,” said Jennifer Jones Paton, president and CEO of the Colorado BioScience Association. “We see the impact the program has made over the past 10 years. We congratulate the newest class of Boettcher Investigators.”

The 2019 Class of Boettcher Investigators and their research topics are:

Colorado State University

  • Seonil Kim, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biomedical Sciences – Cellular mechanisms of Alzheimer’s disease


National Jewish Health

  • Kara J. Mould, M.D. M.P.H., Assistant Professor of Medicine – Macrophage programing in acute lung injury


University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

  • Cecilia Caino, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pharmacology – Novel mitochondrial signaling platforms in cancer
  • Robert Dietz, M.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pediatrics – Functional recovery and reversal of impairment after ischemia in the developing brain
  • Neelanjan Mukherjee, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics – Systems biology of RNA regulatory networks
  • Kelly D. Sullivan, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pediatrics – Interferon signaling in Down syndrome


University of Colorado Colorado Springs

  • Tara Cepon Robins, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Anthropology – Parasite exposure and immune system development


For more information about the Webb-Waring Biomedical Research Awards, visit the Boettcher Foundation website.

High-resolution photos of individual recipients and the entire group available by request.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.