42 Colorado Teachers Honored by Boettcher Scholars

42 Colorado Teachers Honored by Boettcher Scholars

August 11, 2017 — Forty-two Colorado teachers will be recognized this evening for the significant impact they have had on some of Colorado’s top students.

The Boettcher Foundation will host its 26th annual Teacher Recognition Awards Program this evening at the Denver Botanic Gardens. The program allows each recipient of the 2017 Boettcher Foundation Scholarship to acknowledge the teacher who has impacted him or her the most. At the event, each Boettcher Scholar will deliver remarks about his or her teacher, and each teacher will receive a $1,000 grant from the Foundation to be used toward an educational program or project to benefit students at his or her school.

“Colorado’s kids deserve teachers who are driven and passionate about the work they do,” said Tiffany Anderson, the Boettcher Foundation’s scholarship program director. “The 42 teachers selected by our newest Scholars have championed excellence in their classrooms, and we are proud to recognize them for helping our Scholars get to where they are today.”

The Boettcher Foundation Scholarship recognizes Colorado’s most talented students by providing them with a full-ride scholarship to attend a Colorado college or university, enabling them to build a Colorado network and use their immense talents to improve our communities right here at home.

This year’s Teacher Recognition Award recipients are:

DistrictHigh SchoolTeacher NameNominating Scholar
Academy 20Pine Creek High SchoolSusan NolanKatelynn Hughes
Bayfield 10 JT-RBayfield High SchoolDerek SmithLenka Doskocil
Boulder Valley RE 2Broomfield High SchoolTara TovarArmando Ocampo
Brighton 27JPrairie View High SchoolJessica MauracherHossna Yasini
Center 26 JTCenter High SchoolKatrina RugglesJordan Lobato
Cherry Creek 5Smoky Hill High SchoolAdrian HolguinLeah Gibson
Cherry Creek 5Cherokee Trail High SchoolPaul ClintonHenry Kvietok
Delta County 50 (J)Delta High SchoolBen MagtutuElizabeth Ward
Denver County 1Denver School of the ArtsChad RussellCamryn Daidone
Denver County 1Denver School of the ArtsAmy McGrathBridget Galaty
Denver County 1Denver South High SchoolJason Brookes**Keller MacLachlan
Denver County 1Denver South High SchoolRyan MariniAnna Renkert
Denver County 1Denver South High SchoolAndrea Griffin**Cherokee Ronolo-Valdez
Douglas County RE 1Legend High SchoolBrent JacksonAnsh Desai
Douglas County RE 1Rock Canyon High SchoolKatherine HartlineSydney Marchando
Douglas County RE 1Castle View High SchoolRoger Felch**Jenna Trost
Douglas County RE 1Rock Canyon High SchoolJanna Robinett**Ryan Vandersmith
Douglas County RE 1Legend High SchoolCynthia HendersonNiketna Vivek
East Otero R-1La Junta High SchoolKelly Jo SmithAnastasia Mathews
Falcon 49Falcon High SchoolThomas RussellKiana Harkema
Garfield RE-2Aspen High SchoolJennifer Morandi-Benson*Jacob Morgan
Holyoke RE-1JHolyoke High SchoolScott DilleAustin Herman
Jefferson County R-1Lakewood High SchoolJennifer WebbJon Abrahamson
Jefferson County R-1Golden High SchoolShannon GarvinShamik Bhat
Jefferson County R-1Lakewood High SchoolWayne MadsenTroy Jackson
Jefferson County R-1Lakewood High SchoolSandra SullivanDakota Kisling
Jefferson County R-1Jefferson Academy High SchoolMary FerbracheSpencer Narowetz
Jefferson County R-1Conifer High SchoolJoshua NielsonBenjamin Powell
Kit Carson R-1Kit Carson High SchoolTim Hogan**Bradley Johnson
Littleton 6Littleton High SchoolRodney StutzmanLauren Weiss
Mapleton 1Mapleton Expeditionary School of the ArtsTim StemperTahlia Lucero
Meeker RE 1Meeker High SchoolMichelle SelleCasey Turner
North Conejos RE-1JCentauri High SchoolMargaret Salazar-Muniz**Ariel Sandoval
Poudre R-1Poudre High SchoolBrad Beauprez**Naitra Ramchander
Roaring Fork RE-1Basalt High SchoolNick LenioDaniel Barnes
Roaring Fork RE-1Roaring Fork High SchoolWendy BolandNicholas Penzel
Salida R-32Salida High SchoolAmy MooreHarper Powell
Silverton 1Silverton High SchoolKelly HabeckerHannah deKay
St. Vrain Valley RE 1JSilver Creek High SchoolSteve McNichols**Jacob Fuhrman
St. Vrain Valley RE 1JSkyline High SchoolDavid FrickLindsey Hamblin
Wray RD2Wray High SchoolAngela DePuePaige Beckman
Wray RD2Wray High SchoolNikki GelvinLuke Srsen

 * Jennifer Morandi-Benson teaches at Aspen High School. She is being honored by a student who graduated from Coal Ridge High School.

** Denotes multiple-year recipient.

High-resolution photos of scholars with their teachers available upon request after the event.

About the Boettcher Foundation
At Boettcher we believe in the promise of Colorado and the potential of Coloradans. Every day we champion excellence across our state by investing in our most talented citizens and high-potential organizations, because supporting their hard work and leadership will enable them to give back for years to come. For more information, visit www.boettcherfoundation.org.About the Boettcher Foundation


Kristi Arellano

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.