42 teachers honored for impact on 2016 Boettcher Scholars

42 teachers honored for impact on 2016 Boettcher Scholars

25th-anniversary event to recognize five-time award recipients

August 12, 2016 — Forty-two Colorado teachers will be recognized this evening for the significant impact they have had on some of Colorado’s top students, while two others will receive special honors for being multi-year recipients of the award.

The Boettcher Foundation is hosting its 25th annual Teacher Recognition Awards Program this evening at the Denver Botanic Gardens. The program allows each recipient of the 2016 Boettcher Foundation Scholarship to acknowledge the teacher who has impacted him or her the most. At the event, each Boettcher Scholar will deliver remarks about his or her teacher, and each teacher will receive a $1,000 grant from the Foundation to be used toward an educational program or project to benefit students at his or her school.

“These 42 teachers have played a significant role in shaping the educational experiences of our Boettcher Scholars,” said Tiffany Anderson, the Boettcher Foundation’s scholarship program director. “We are proud to honor these individuals for championing excellence in their classrooms.”

In addition to celebrating the 42 teachers, the Boettcher Foundation will honor two teachers who have each been recognized five times over the 25-year history of the Teacher Recognition Awards. Richard Ransome, a retired teacher from Pueblo South High School, and Peter Mehlback from Lakewood High School, will be recognized at the event. In their honor, the Boettcher Foundation will make a donation to the Colorado nonprofit of each teacher’s choice.

“It is a significant achievement for a teacher to be recognized as the most influential educator in a Boettcher Scholar’s life,” said Tim Schultz, president and executive director of the Boettcher Foundation. “In its history of recognizing roughly 1,000 teachers, only a small number of teachers have been honored more than once, so it is truly remarkable for a teacher to be recognized five times.”

This year’s Teacher Recognition Award recipients are:

TeacherSchoolDistrictNominating Student
Cindy CalderHorizon High School Adams 12 Five Star SchoolsLeilani Osmundson
Steve LashHorizon High School Adams 12 Five Star SchoolsLina Osmundson
Amy SternLegacy High SchoolAdams 12 Five Star SchoolsLauren Plomer
Adrienne PereAdams City High SchoolAdams County 14Fernando Chavez
Tammy StrouseRangeview High School Adams-Arapahoe 28JAlexis Wall
Megan NoonanAspen High SchoolAspen 1Harriet Pryor
Nathaniel SmithGrandview High School Cherry Creek 5Camilla Hallin
Courtney HendricksCherokee Trail High SchoolCherry Creek 5Janaye Matthews
Eric EidsonOverland High SchoolCherry Creek 5Jasmine Middleton
Jim TechauSmoky Hill High SchoolCherry Creek 5Eric Paricio
Michael MazenkoCherry Creek High SchoolCherry Creek 5Grace Rooney
Bette AnterraColorado Springs SchoolCheyenne Mountain 12Michael Gohde
Hayley RaitzWilliam Mitchell High SchoolColorado Springs 11Jessica Perea
Will ForrestPaonia Senior High SchoolDelta County 50 (J)Chelsea Meilner
Laura MarschkeSouthwest Early CollegeDenver County 1Cesar Caraveo
Keith OxmanDenver East High SchoolDenver County 1Ethan Greenberg
Michael WyldeGeorge Washington High SchoolDenver County 1Maureen McNamara
Lisa NolteChaparral High SchoolDouglas County RE 1Kellyn Dassler
Staci StechMountain Vista High SchoolDouglas County RE 1Pranathi Durgempudi
Brian WoodMountain Vista High SchoolDouglas County RE 1Noah Hirshorn
Lindsey PahsChaparral High SchoolDouglas County RE 1William Holtzmann
Tina StromanLegend High SchoolDouglas County RE 1Erin Jones
Emily FranksHighlands Ranch High SchoolDouglas County RE 1Paula Pulido
Robert HazlehurstCastle View High SchoolDouglas County RE 1Kelly Winn
Laurie Schlekeway-Burkhardt Elizabeth High SchoolElizabeth C-1Marianne Hughes
Penny GrasmickFowler High SchoolFowler R-4JBrennan Bates
Marguerite YowellGenoa-Hugo High SchoolGenoa-Hugo C113Kaeli Humphrey
Charlotte CampCrested Butte Community SchoolGunnison Watershed RE1JBenjamin Swift
Eric FriesenColumbine High SchoolJefferson County R-1Peter Heller
Julie DillArvada West High SchoolJefferson County R-1Korissa Straub
Kait CumsillePalmer Ridge High SchoolLewis-Palmer 38Tanner Bobak
Julie LarsenYork International High SchoolMapleton 1Kali Horn
Jennifer Dickson Eyler*Grand Junction High SchoolMesa County Valley 51Mari McCarville
Nancy JirkaSouth Park High SchoolPark County RE-2Jesus Banuelos-Rivera
Brad BeauprezPoudre R-1Poudre High SchoolGillian Breuer
James GlennRocky Mountain High School Poudre R-1Analise Iwanski
Tony FilpiPueblo South High SchoolPueblo City 60Kaylene Khosla
Andrew RobertsNiwot High SchoolSt. Vrain Valley RE 1JRohan Baishya
David LavenderTelluride High School Telluride R-1Madison Alexander
Gregory MorrisonLoveland High SchoolThompson R-2JRichard Ortecho
Lori BirchWest Grand High SchoolWest Grand 1-JTJill Wilkinson
Kelley RebisWray High SchoolWray RD2Lauren Soehner


* Jennifer Dickson Eyler teaches at North Fork Community Montessori School. She is being honored by a student who graduated from Grand Junction High School.

About the Boettcher Foundation
At Boettcher we believe in the promise of Colorado and the potential of Coloradans. Every day we champion excellence across our state by investing in our most talented citizens and high-potential organizations, because supporting their hard work and leadership will enable them to give back for years to come. For more information, visit www.boettcherfoundation.org.About the Boettcher Foundation


Kristi Arellano

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.