42 young leaders recognized with Boettcher Foundation Scholarships

42 young leaders recognized with Boettcher Foundation Scholarships

May 5, 2016 — Forty-two of Colorado’s top graduating seniors have been selected as recipients of the 2016 Boettcher Foundation Scholarship.

Boettcher Scholarships recognize Colorado’s top students by providing them with the funds to attain an excellent in-state education and access to additional opportunities to enrich their time in college and beyond. Boettcher Scholars become part of a vast network of Alumni and community leaders who will support and engage them throughout their lifetimes.

“The Boettcher Scholarship aims to keep Colorado’s highest-potential students in the state by connecting them with the outstanding opportunities offered by our in-state institutions,” said Tim Schultz, president and executive director of the Boettcher Foundation. “Doing so helps ensure that our dynamic thinkers and leaders use their immense talents to improve our communities right here at home.”

Established in 1952, the Boettcher Scholarship program awards 42 scholarships each year. The Boettcher Scholar community includes more than 2,400 individuals who have gone on to make their marks in business, politics, academia, and other endeavors. Among them are a Nobel Prize winner, a MacArthur “Genius Award” recipient, multiple Rhodes Scholars, U.S. Ambassadors, CEOs, elected officials, and numerous leaders in the business, academic, and nonprofit communities.

“This year’s class of Boettcher Scholars was selected from a pool of more than 1,400 incredibly qualified applicants,” said Tiffany Anderson, director of the scholarship program. “This year’s class includes the Colorado State DECA president, a young man who delivers care kits to cancer patients, and a student who has helped hundreds of individuals with low incomes file their taxes. We’re confident that they represent the values that the Boettcher family sought to encourage.”

The Boettcher Foundation increased the number of scholarships awarded annually from 40 to 42 last year, thanks to a generous, ongoing donation from B. Grady and Lori Durham of Denver.

“This year’s group of finalists was incredibly strong, so we are exceptionally grateful to the Durhams for allowing us to extend this opportunity to two additional, deserving students,” Schultz said.

Boettcher Scholarships include virtually all expenses to attend the Colorado school of the recipient’s choice: full tuition, fees, a book allowance, and an annual stipend for living expenses.

About the Boettcher Foundation

At Boettcher, we believe in the promise of Colorado and the potential of Coloradans. Every day we champion excellence across our state by investing in our most talented citizens and highpotential organization, because supporting their hard work and leadership will enable them to give back for years to come. For more information, visit www.boettcherfoundation.org.


Marisa Pooley

Madison Alexander
Telluride HS (CC)

Rohan Baishya
Niwot HS (CU)

Jesus Banuelos-Rivera
South Park HS (CU)

Brennan Bates
Fowler HS (CSU)

Tanner Bobak
Palmer Ridge HS (CU)

Gillian Breuer
Poudre HS (DU)

Cesar Caraveo
Southwest Early College (DU)

Fernando Chavez
Adams City HS (CU)

Kellyn Dassler
Chaparral HS (CSU)

Pranathi Durgempudi
Mountain Vista HS (CU)

Michael Gohde
Colorado Springs School (CU)

Ethan Greenberg
Denver East HS (CC)

Camilla Hallin
Grandview HS (CU)

Peter Heller
Columbine HS (CU)

Noah Hirshorn
Mountain Vista HS (CC)

William Holtzmann
Chaparral HS (DU)

Kali Horn
York International HS (UNC)

Marianne Hughes
Elizabeth HS (DU)

Kaeli Humphrey
Genoa-Hugo HS (DU)

Analise Iwanski
Rocky Mountain HS (CU)

Erin Jones
Legend HS (DU)

Kaylene Khosla
Pueblo South HS (DU)

Janaye Matthews
Cherokee Trail HS (CSU)

Mari McCarville
Grand Junction HS (DU)

Maureen McNamara
George Washington HS (CU)

Chelsea Meilner
Paonia Senior HS (Mines)

Jasmine Middleton
Overland HS (UNC)

Richard Ortecho
Loveland HS (CU)

Leilani Osmundson
Horizon HS (CU)

Lina Osmundson
Horizon HS (CU)

Eric Paricio
Smoky Hill HS (CSU)

Jessica Perea
William Mitchell HS (CU)

Lauren Plomer
Legacy HS (DU)

Harriet Pryor
Aspen HS (DU)

Paula Pulido
Highlands Ranch HS (CU)

Grace Rooney
Cherry Creek HS (DU)

Lauren Soehner
Wray HS (DU)

Korissa Straub
Arvada West HS (CSU)

Benjamin Swift
Crested Butte Community School (CC)

Alexis Wall
Rangeview HS (CU)

Jill Wilkinson
West Grand HS (DU)

Kelly Winn
Castle View HS (CU)

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.