42 young leaders recognized with 2017 Boettcher Foundation Scholarships

42 young leaders recognized with 2017 Boettcher Foundation Scholarships

DENVER, May 9, 2017 — Forty-two of Colorado’s top graduating seniors have been selected as recipients of Boettcher Foundation Scholarships. These students have committed to attending Colorado universities where they will use their immense talents to improve our communities right here at home.

“The Boettcher Scholarship aims to keep Colorado’s highest-potential students in the state by connecting them with the outstanding opportunities offered by our in-state institutions,” said Katie Kramer, CEO of the Boettcher Foundation. “Boettcher Scholars become part of a vast network of Alumni and community leaders who will support and engage them throughout their lifetimes.”

Established in 1952, the Boettcher Scholarship program annually awards 42 scholarships to graduating high school seniors in the State of Colorado. The four-year scholarship includes virtually all expenses to attend the Colorado school of the recipient’s choice: full tuition, fees, a book allowance, and an annual stipend for living expenses. Scholars are selected based on academics, service, leadership, and character.

The Boettcher Scholar community includes more than 2,400 individuals who have gone on to make their marks in business, politics, academia, and other endeavors. Among them are a Nobel Prize winner, a MacArthur “Genius Award” recipient, multiple Rhodes Scholars, U.S. Ambassadors, CEOs, elected officials, and numerous leaders in the business, academic, and nonprofit communities.

“The 2017 Boettcher Scholars were selected from a pool of more than 1,400 incredibly qualified applicants,” said Tiffany Anderson, director of the scholarship program. “This year’s class includes a young woman who helps refugees by gathering and distributing donations; a young man who not only launched his own software business but also started an incubator for other student entrepreneurs; and a student who has produced more than 15 short films. We’re confident that this year’s class represents the values that the Boettcher family sought to encourage.”

In 2015, the Boettcher Foundation increased the number of scholarships awarded annually from 40 to 42, thanks to a generous donation from B. Grady and Lori Durham of Denver.

Scholar names and photos follow. High-resolution images available upon request.

About the Boettcher Foundation

At Boettcher, we believe in the promise of Colorado and the potential of Coloradans. Every day we champion excellence across our state by investing in our most talented citizens and highpotential organization, because supporting their hard work and leadership will enable them to give back for years to come. For more information, visit www.boettcherfoundation.org.


Kristi Arellano

Jon Abrahamson
Lakewood HS (CU)

Daniel Barnes
Basalt HS (CC)

Paige Beckman
Wray HS (CU)

Shamik Bhat
Golden HS (UCD)

Camryn Daidone
Denver School of the Arts (CSU)

Hannah deKay
Silverton HS (Regis)

Ansh Desai
Legend HS (CU)

Lenka Doskocil
Bayfield HS (CSU)

Jacob Fuhrman
Silver Creek HS (CU)

Bridget Galaty
Denver School of the Arts (CC)

Leah Gibson
Smoky Hill HS (CSU)

Lindsey Hamblin
Skyline HS (CU)

Kiana Harkema
Falcon HS (CU)

Austin Herman
Holyoke HS (CU)

Katelynn Hughes
Pine Creek HS (CU)

Troy Jackson
Lakewood HS (DU)

Bradley Johnson
Kit Carson HS (CSU)

Dakota Kisling
Lakewood HS (CU)

Henry Kvietok
Cherokee Trail HS (CU)

Jordan Lobato
Center HS (CSU)

Tahlia Lucero
Mapleton Expeditionary School of the Arts (DU)

Keller MacLachlan
Denver South HS (CU)

Sydney Marchando
Rock Canyon HS (Mines)

Anastasia Mathews
La Junta HS (CU)

Jacob Morgan
Coal Ridge HS (CU)

Spencer Narowetz
Jefferson Academy HS (CU)

Armando Ocampo
Broomfield HS (Mines)

Nicholas Penzel
Roaring Fork HS (CC)

Benjamin Powell
Conifer HS (DU)

Harper Powell
Salida HS (CU)

Naitra Ramchander
Poudre HS (DU)

Anna Renkert
Denver South HS (CC)

Cherokee Ronolo-Valdez
Denver South HS (DU)

Ariel Sandoval
Centauri HS (CU)

Luke Srsen
Wray HS (DU)

Jenna Trost
Castle View HS (CU)

Casey Turner
Meeker HS (Mines)

Ryan Vandersmith
Rock Canyon HS (Mines)

Niketna Vivek
Legend HS (CU)

Elizabeth Ward
Delta HS (DU)

Lauren Weiss
Littleton HS (CC)

Hossna Yasini
Prairie View HS (UCD)

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.