Boettcher Foundation announces its 2015 class of Boettcher Investigators

Boettcher Foundation announces its 2015 class of Boettcher Investigators

June 4, 2015 – The Boettcher Foundation Board of Trustees today announced its 2015 class of Boettcher Investigators in the Webb-Waring Biomedical Research Awards program. The six new Boettcher Investigators work as faculty members and researchers at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, the University of Colorado Denver, and Colorado State University. As part of the program, each Boettcher Investigator will receive a grant of $225,000 to cover up to three years of biomedical research activity.

The innovative program encourages the “best and brightest” in Colorado bioscience and supports significant, impactful research to advance knowledge and positively impact human health. Additionally, it honors the Webb and Waring family legacies of scientific and public service.

Tim Schultz, President and Executive Director of the Boettcher Foundation, says:
“The 2015 class of Boettcher Investigators represents Colorado’s most promising early-career scientists. We are proud to support their work to prevent disease and improve human health. We created the program to provide the critical funds emerging researchers need to grow their careers and open up promising new areas of inquiry.”

April Giles, President & CEO of Colorado Bioscience Association (CBSA), says:
“The Boettcher Foundation and the Webb-Waring Biomedical Research Awards demonstrate Colorado’s leadership in bioscience and commitment to nurturing scientific talent. CBSA commends the Foundation for its significant, long-term commitment to recruiting, retaining, and advancing scientific talent in our state through the Boettcher Investigators program.”

The 2015 Class of Boettcher Investigators in the Webb-Waring Biomedical Research program includes:

University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

  • James Costello, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pharmacology – Cancer systems biology and pharmacogenomics
  • Santos J. Franco, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pediatric Stem Cell Biology – Brain stem cells in development and disease
  • Melanie Cree Green, M.D., Ph.D., Instructor of Pediatric Endocrinology – Fatty liver in adolescents with polycystic ovarian syndrome

University of Colorado Denver

  • Aaron N. Johnson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Integrative Biology – Molecular mechanisms of congenital myopathies
  • Erik B. Oleson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Psychology – Dopaminergic contributions to behavior and psychopathology

Colorado State University

  • Tai Montgomery, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biology – MicroRNA regulation of drug resistance

With the addition of the 2015 Class, there are now 35 Boettcher Investigators conducting research at the following institutions: University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, University of Colorado Boulder, University of Colorado Denver, Colorado State University, National Jewish Health, Colorado School of Mines, and Colorado College.

About the Boettcher Foundation

At Boettcher we believe in the promise of Colorado and the potential of Coloradans. Every day we champion excellence across our state by investing in our most talented citizens and high-potential organizations, because supporting their hard work and leadership will enable them to give back for years to come. For more information, visit


Boettcher Investigators Class of 2015
Back row: Erik B. Oleson, Ph.D.; Melanie Cree Green, M.D., Ph.D.; Tai Montgomery, Ph.D.; Santos J. Franco, Ph.D.
Front row: Aaron N. Johnson, Ph.D.; James Costello, Ph.D.


Kristi Arellano

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.