2018 Boettcher Scholars Recognize Influential Teachers

30 May 2018 Boettcher Scholars Recognize Influential Teachers

DENVER, May 30, 2018 — Forty-two Colorado teachers have been selected as recipients of the Boettcher Foundation’s Teacher Recognition Award. The annual award honors the educators who have had the greatest influence on the 2018 class of Boettcher Scholars.

“The 42 teachers selected by our newest Boettcher Scholars have championed excellence in their classrooms, and we are proud to recognize them for helping our scholars get to where they are today,” said Tiffany Anderson, the Boettcher Foundation’s scholarship program director.

As part of the Boettcher Scholarship program, which provides Colorado’s most talented students with scholarships to attend a Colorado college or university, recipients are asked to select the teacher who has impacted him or her the most. Each teacher honoree is recognized with a personalized plaque, a special tribute from the Boettcher Scholar who selected them, and a $1,000 grant to be used for a project or activity to benefit students at their school.

“We know that the success of our Boettcher Scholars is a direct result of the commitment made by their teachers, and this is a small but meaningful way of expressing our gratitude for their dedication to Colorado’s students,” Anderson said.

Award recipients are:

District Teacher School Teacher Name Nominating Scholar
Academy 20 Pine Creek High School Kate Margrave Austin Spafford
Adams 12 Five Star Schools Legacy High School Jennifer French-Jurgens Rae Winker
Adams 12 Five Star Schools Mountain Range High School Ian Simpson Jessie Hiatt
Adams-Arapahoe 28J Hinkley High School Susan Hartley Josue Estrada Murillo
Alamosa RE-11J Alamosa High School Katie Montague Lexi Wright
Aspen 1 Aspen High School Greg Roark Will Pryor
Boulder Valley RE 2 Monarch High School Kristin Kerr Gannon Zoe Woods
Boulder Valley RE 2 Peak to Peak Charter School Allen Hankla Gia Tran
Cherry Creek 5 Cherokee Trail High School Kevin Wills-Keely Taylor Heap
Cherry Creek 5 Cherry Creek High School Jocelyn Nguyen-Reed Kylie Hunter
Cherry Creek 5 Cherry Creek High School Jodi Best Ana Mayordomo
Cheyenne Mountain 12 Cheyenne Mountain High School Meg Fredrick Elizabeth LaJoie
Colorado Springs 11 Andrew Jackson Elementary Elizabeth Blanco* Alexis Harris
Colorado Springs 11 Coronado High School Sarah Jacobs Josh Sun
Denver County 1 Denver School of Science & Technology Lewis McAll Bella Horton
Denver County 1 Denver South High School Eric Punkay Sophie Cardin
Denver County 1 John F. Kennedy High School Paul Mahoney Theresa Nguyen
Denver County 1 Thomas Jefferson High School Jonathon Poole** Molly Jordan Little
Dolores RE-4A Dolores High School Dave Hopcia Cameron Elder
Douglas County RE 1 Highlands Ranch High School Deborah Lynch Andres Pulido
Douglas County RE 1 Highlands Ranch High School David Wexler Megan Koch
Douglas County RE 1 Rock Canyon High School Anna Tesdahl Shreya Nallapati
Douglas County RE 1 ThunderRidge High School Olivia Holland Océane Mauffrey
Englewood 1 Englewood High School Mark Fornnarino Maria Alsubhi
Granada RE-1 Granada High School John Hopper Tarin Kemp
Holyoke RE-1J Holyoke High School Josh Schroetlin Luke Krogmeier
Jefferson County R-1 Columbine High School Tracy Schwartz Jackson Garske
Jefferson County R-1 Wheat Ridge High School Kendra Gothard Joe Whitney
Las Animas RE-1 Las Animas High School David Armstrong Makayla Huffman
Littleton 6 Arapahoe High School Kristin Leclaire** Griffin Hampton
Mapleton 1 Academy High School Robert Rodewald* Rafael Figueroa
Platte Valley RE-7 Platte Valley High School Kirby Moore Dustin Horn
Platte Valley RE-7 Platte Valley High School Jennifer Flummerfelt Hunter Thorn
Poudre R-1 Fort Collins High School Christine Matthie** Anuja Gore
Poudre R-1 Poudre High School Joe Fontana** Maddi Schink
Pueblo City 60 Pueblo Central High School Joanne Griego Peyton Roth
Pueblo County Rural 70 Pueblo County High School Flo Downs Elena Trujillo
Rocky Ford R-2 Rocky Ford Jr./Sr. High School Keri Robinson Jacklynn Snyder
St Vrain Valley RE 1J Silver Creek High School Juliette Forbes Jayson Brubaker
Yuma School District 1 Yuma Middle School Brenda Kloberdanz* Riley Meisner
n/a – Private School Mullen High School Tim DeNezza Gaby Brown
n/a – Private School Alexander Dawson School Nate Lord Ben Deitsch

Contact: Kristi Arellano, 303.285.6208, kristi@boettcherfoundation.org

About the Boettcher Foundation:
At Boettcher, we believe in the promise of Colorado and the potential of Coloradans. Every day we champion excellence across our state by investing in our most talented citizens and high-potential organizations, because supporting their hard work and leadership will enable them to give back for years to come.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.