Colorado Teachers Honored for Impact

Colorado Teachers Honored for Impact

DENVER, April 2, 2019 — The Boettcher Foundation today announced that it is recognizing a group of standout Colorado teachers for their impact and dedication to students.

As part of the Boettcher Scholarship program, which provides Colorado’s most talented students with scholarships to attend a Colorado college or university, the Boettcher Foundation also honors the teachers who have committed themselves to supporting the high-achieving students who compete for the scholarship.

“We know that teachers are a critical component in the success of Colorado’s students,” said Tiffany Anderson, programs director for Boettcher Foundation. “For every student that leads a club or organization, there is a teacher who works late to supervise that organization. For every student who takes an independent study, there is a teacher who is spending extra hours guiding and supporting that student.”

This year’s teacher honorees were selected by finalists for the Boettcher Scholarship. Each educator will receive a plaque, a personalized tribute from the student who selected them and a $500 grant to be used for a project or activity to benefit students at their school.

“These dedicated and passionate educators have championed excellence in their classrooms, and we are proud to recognize them for helping Colorado students to achieve their goals and prepare for their futures,” Anderson said.

A complete list of the 2019 Teacher Recognition Award recipients follows. The Boettcher Foundation will announce the final class of Boettcher Scholarship recipients in early May.

DistrictTeacher SchoolTeacher Name
Academy 20Discovery Canyon High SchoolJeremy Beckman
Academy 20Pine Creek High SchoolNan Gefreh
Academy 20Pine Creek High SchoolRichard Castle
Academy 20Pine Creek High SchoolValerie Babbitt
Academy 20Rampart High SchoolAlison Ehrensaft
Academy 20Rampart High SchoolGregory Andersen
Adams 12 Five Star SchoolsHorizon High SchoolDave Cialone
Adams 12 Five Star SchoolsLegacy High SchoolBrian Espinoza
Adams 12 Five Star SchoolsLegacy High SchoolJennifer Dumas
Adams 12 Five Star SchoolsNorthglenn High SchoolLori Egan
Adams 12 Five Star SchoolsNorthglenn High SchoolKasey Nunn
Adams 12 Five Star SchoolsStargate Charter SchoolJessika Muñoz
Adams 12 Five Star SchoolsThornton High SchoolAnn Putsche
Adams-Arapahoe 28JAurora Central High SchoolKevin Rigot
Adams-Arapahoe 28JHinkley High SchoolDavid Nickoloff
Akron R-1Akron High SchoolAli Houston
Arickaree R-2Arickaree High SchoolBeth Ray
Arickaree R-2Arickaree High SchoolDon Myers
Boulder Valley RE 2Broomfield High SchoolLena Carroll
Boulder Valley RE 2Monarch High SchoolDavid Farrell
Boulder Valley RE 2Monarch High SchoolKate Lunz
Boulder Valley RE 2New Vista High SchoolVanessa Dimiziani-Cascio
Boulder Valley RE 2Peak to Peak Charter SchoolCarla Flanhofer
Boulder Valley RE 2Peak to Peak Charter SchoolMary Campbell
Brighton 27JPrairie View High SchoolVeronica Randall
Canon City RE-1Canon City High SchoolMichelle Curl
Charter School InstituteAcademy of Charter SchoolsLorie Grebe
Cherry Creek 5Cherokee Trail High SchoolAlana Stevenson
Cherry Creek 5Cherokee Trail High SchoolTamara Johnson
Cherry Creek 5Cherry Creek High SchoolErika Padzik
Cherry Creek 5Eaglecrest High SchoolStephanie Swenson
Cherry Creek 5Grandview High SchoolNathaniel Smith
Cherry Creek 5Smoky Hill High SchoolKatie Kleeman
Cheyenne Mountain 12Cheyenne Mountain High SchoolJanie Mueller
Cheyenne Mountain 12Vanguard SchoolCheryl Holling
Delta County 50 (J)Delta High SchoolDanielle Lopez
Delta County 50 (J)Paonia Senior High SchoolKreszenze Allen
Denver County 1Denver East High SchoolMyrna Wilson
Denver County 1Denver South High SchoolJennifer Redlin
Denver County 1George Washington High SchoolKevin Vicente
Douglas County RE 1Chaparral High SchoolQiong Jan
Douglas County RE 1Douglas County High SchoolSteven Fleet
Douglas County RE 1Legend High SchoolDebbie Tawzer
Douglas County RE 1Legend High SchoolTina Stroman
Douglas County RE 1Mountain Vista High SchoolCharity Smith
Douglas County RE 1Mountain Vista High SchoolKent Allison
Douglas County RE 1Rock Canyon High SchoolDavid Ferguson
Douglas County RE 1Rock Canyon High SchoolMatthew Sassali
Douglas County RE 1Rock Canyon High SchoolMatthew Gracey
Douglas County RE 1Rock Canyon High SchoolShawndra Fordham
Eagle County RE 50Battle Mountain High SchoolTimothy Caudill
Englewood 1Englewood High SchoolSarah Fuller
Fountain 8Fountain Fort Carson High SchoolTobin Chandler
Fountain 8Fountain Fort Carson High SchoolJoshua Race
Garfield RE-2Coal Ridge High SchoolBobbi Jo Wiescamp
Greeley 6Frontier AcademyHenry Ainsworth
Greeley 6Frontier AcademyJacque Schmidt
Greeley 6Greeley Central High SchoolThomas Frasier
Greeley 6Northridge High SchoolJoshua Seematter
Hinsdale County RE 1Lake City Community SchoolDaniel Scroggins
Idalia RJ-3Idalia High SchoolCindy Soehner
Jefferson County R-1Chatfield Senior High SchoolStephanie Chavez
Jefferson County R-1Chatfield Senior High SchoolJeffrey Garkow
Jefferson County R-1Conifer High SchoolOwen Volzke
Jefferson County R-1Evergreen High SchoolKarla Gordon
Julesburg RE-1Julesburg High SchoolTimothy Kossman
Kit Carson R-1Kit Carson High SchoolTim Hogan
Lamar RE-2Lamar High SchoolJenna Randle
Limon RE-4JLimon High SchoolGreg Scherrer
Littleton 6Heritage High SchoolMichael Rudolph
Littleton 6Littleton High SchoolKristin Kron
McClave RE-2McClave High SchoolLance Jagers
Meeker RE 1Meeker High SchoolNaomi Etchart
Mesa County Valley 51Grand Junction Central High SchoolJulie Christianson
Miami/Yoder 60 JTMiami-Yoder High SchoolAngela Grimes
Montezuma-Cortez RE-1Montezuma-Cortez High SchoolKatie Zdanowski
N/AArapahoe Community College (concurrent enrollment)Monica Fuglei
N/AFountain Valley SchoolSimon Waldbaum
North Conejos RE-1JCentauri High SchoolCole Miller
Platte Valley RE-7Platte Valley High SchoolJulie Thomas
Poudre R-1Fort Collins High SchoolJason Clarke
Poudre R-1Fort Collins High SchoolTiana Song
Poudre R-1Fort Collins High SchoolChristine Matthie
Poudre R-1Fossil Ridge High SchoolTodd Pfeifer
Poudre R-1Fossil Ridge High SchoolJoe Anastasia
Poudre R-1Liberty Common High SchoolJeremy Tullius
Poudre R-1Poudre High SchoolCassie Poncelow
Poudre R-1Poudre High SchoolKrista Brakhage
Poudre R-1Poudre High SchoolKristine Bibbey
Pueblo City 60Pueblo Centennial High SchoolCheryl Farrer
Pueblo City 60Pueblo South High SchoolHelen Johnson
Pueblo County Rural 70Rye High SchoolCole Mcgee
Roaring Fork RE-1Roaring Fork High SchoolCarmen McCracken
Rocky Ford R-2Rocky Ford Junior/Senior High SchoolCindy Von Feldt
South Routt RE 3Soroco High SchoolKelli Turnipseed
St Vrain Valley RE 1JMead High SchoolKelly Corne
Summit RE-1Summit County High SchoolAlyssa Giger
Swink 33Swink High SchoolJudy Jenkins
Swink 33Swink High SchoolBonnie Grossen
Telluride R-1Telluride High SchoolDavid Lavender
Thompson R-2JBerthoud High SchoolLaurie Brandvold
Thompson R-2JLoveland High SchoolRichy Lynn
Windsor RE-4Windsor High SchoolSteve Cline
Yuma 1Yuma High SchoolAmy Melby

Contact: Kristi Arellano, 303.285.6208,

About the Boettcher Foundation:

At the Boettcher Foundation, we believe in the promise of Colorado and the potential of Coloradans. Every day we champion excellence across our state by investing in our most talented citizens and high-potential organizations, because supporting their hard work and leadership will enable them to give back for years to come.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.