Colorado Teachers Honored for Exemplary Leadership and Influence

DENVER, May 23, 2023 — The Boettcher Foundation today announced that it is recognizing a group of standout Colorado teachers for their impact and influence on some of the state’s top students.

As part of the Boettcher Scholarship Program, which provides Colorado’s most talented students with scholarships to attend a Colorado college or university, the Boettcher Foundation also honors the teachers who have committed themselves to supporting the high-achieving students who interview for the scholarship as finalists.

This year’s educators were recommended by the 2023 Class of Boettcher Scholars. Each teacher will receive a certificate, a personalized tribute from the student who selected them, and a grant to be used for a project or activity to benefit students at their school.

“A talented group finalists chose to honor these educators because of their dedication to empowering and supporting the growth of committed Colorado leaders,” said Tiffany Anderson, senior director of programs & strategic initiatives. “Each of these teachers has played a vital role in helping students prepare to realize their goals. We are honored to recognize them for all they do for the young people of our state, their schools, and their communities.”

A complete list of the 2023 Teacher Recognition Award recipients follows.

About the Boettcher Foundation:

We believe in the promise of Colorado and the potential of Coloradans because courageous leadership benefits every community in our state. By investing in people, programs, and organizations, we provide a foundation for transformational impact and community building.

Boettcher Foundation Teacher Recognition Award Recipients

Nominated by 2023 Boettcher Scholars

Teacher NameHigh SchoolSchool District
Tateum BowersThomas B. Doherty High SchoolColorado Springs 11
Ronda PeeplesArickaree High SchoolArickaree R-2
Keila CastorenaArvada High SchoolJefferson County R-1
Daniel MydansBoulder High SchoolBoulder Valley RE-2
Andrea BinionBroomfield High SchoolBoulder Valley RE-2
Micheal SteachBurlington High SchoolBurlington RE-6J
Jay KisnelCentaurus High SchoolBoulder Valley RE-2
Janelle FiallosCherokee Trail High SchoolCherry Creek 5
Timothy LibbyCherry Creek High SchoolCherry Creek 5
Bobbi Jo WiescampCoal Ridge High SchoolGarfield RE-2
Christy GomezColorado Early Colleges Fort Collins High School
Joshua NielsonConifer High SchoolJefferson County R-1
Keary SullivanDakota Ridge High SchoolJefferson County R-1
Danielle LopezDelta High SchoolDelta County 50J
Jonathan ClarkDenver East High SchoolDenver County 1
Kenneth HowellEarly College Academy
Karla GordonEvergreen High SchoolJefferson County R-1
Rylie SalyardsFleming High SchoolFrenchman RE-3
Tracey WineyPreston Middle SchoolPoudre R-1
Sarah BrunkeGrandview High SchoolCherry Creek 5
Lauren AppelhansGreeley Central High SchoolGreeley 6
Tom NugentGreeley West High SchoolGreeley 6
Theresa LazzeriGreen Mountain High SchoolJefferson County R-1
Mike RudolphHeritage High SchoolLittleton 6
Krista ChurchHi-Plains High SchoolHi-Plains R-23
Azita JahangirlooKIPP Northeast Denver Leadership AcademyDenver County 1
Robert FramelKit Carson High SchoolKit Carson R-1
Jesse Van DivierLegend High SchoolDouglas County RE-1
Joshua TrujilloManzanola High SchoolManzanola 3J
Kathleen KelleyMeeker High SchoolMeeker RE1
Kathleen PackardMonarch High SchoolBoulder Valley RE-2
Loree HarveyMonte Vista High SchoolMonte Vista C-8
Christina DickersonMullen High School
Kari KellerOlathe High SchoolMontrose County RE-1J
Landan SchaffertOtis High SchoolOtis R-3
Hollie KellyOverland High SchoolCherry Creek 5
Shannon GallagherOverland High SchoolCherry Creek 5
Kim PopickPalisade High SchoolMesa County Valley 51
Kurt SchaeferPeak to Peak Charter SchoolBoulder Valley RE-2
Dana GreenPlatte Valley High SchoolPlatte Valley RE-7
Karen BukowskiRock Canyon High SchoolDouglas County RE-1
Kerry ReillyRock Canyon High SchoolDouglas County RE-1
Colleen LambRock Canyon High SchoolDouglas County RE-1
Van WalkerSpringfield High SchoolSpringfield RE-4
Renee LoflinSpringfield High SchoolSpringfield RE-4
Kent SchnackeSTEM School Highlands RanchDouglas County RE-1
Matthew NicoloThomas Jefferson High SchoolDenver County 1
Tamara RewertsValley High SchoolJefferson County R-1
Michelle WalkerWidefield High SchoolWidefield 3
Kelley RebisWray High SchoolWray RD-2

Curtis Esquibel
Director of Communications & Community Engagement
303.565.6291 (cell)

Related Posts

Scroll to Top