Doers & Difference Makers

Fellowship Overview

At Boettcher, we define leadership as mobilizing others to do the difficult work of transforming Colorado communities for the better. In 2021, the Foundation launched the Doers & Difference Makers Fellowship to elevate Colorado community champions who embody this principle. The fellowship links 10-12 Colorado community champions annually to a learning experience built to amplify their impact as connectors in the state’s leadership ecosystem.

Curriculum & Experience

The fellowship is a nine-month program designed with the belief that leadership is an activity, not a position or title, and everyone can lead. The Fellowship curriculum emphasizes the multi-dimensional leadership model and includes more than 60 hours of in-person and virtual learning sessions facilitated by a diverse group of educators. Here are some of the topics covered during the fellowship:

  • Priority & Boundary Setting
  • The Gift of Feedback
  • Introduction to Adaptive Leadership
  • Designed Relationships
  • NeuroLeadership
  • Intentional Conversations
  • Authentic Networking

Each Fellow is also assigned a certified, professional coach who provides coaching sessions for six months during the latter part of the fellowship and several months thereafter.

Professional Development Grant

At the completion of the fellowship, participants can apply to receive a $10,000 grant to support their continued professional development, personal growth, and realize long-term goals, and position them for deeper impact in their respective communities.

The fellowship curriculum, experience, and engagement are carefully curated by a team of staff and consultants who have profound experience in developing leadership development curriculum, learning enrichment experiences, and program evaluation.

What sets Doers & Difference Makers apart?​

Ideal candidates are individuals with a deep commitment to their community and a willingness to put in the work to make things happen. A community can be defined as either a group of people living in the same place (a geographic community) or having a particular characteristic in common (an ethnic, racial, or cultural community).

They are community champions from all sectors who positively impact their communities by finding creative solutions, developing and strengthening networks, or showing high levels of resourcefulness. Candidates are the doers who are on the frontlines of making things happen or those who are at the cusp of something game-changing. They have big dreams and are looking to grow their connections.

They are the people who may or may not have had a seat at traditional leadership tables but they move their community forward regardless. Candidates may not be formally recognized or celebrated, but they are recognized by their communities as key difference makers. Candidates who are CEOs, executives, or leadership program aficionados are not excluded from applying, but preference will be given to those who are not considered traditional leaders.

Candidates from rural communities or underrepresented groups will be given priority. For the purpose of prioritization points, rural areas will be defined as “census places less than 50,000 people and not adjacent or contiguous to an urbanized area.

Are you a doer or difference maker in your community?

The application period is typically open in spring of each year, please check back in April of 2024 to apply or nominate someone you know.

Sectors & Industries

  • Local Government
  • Nonprofit
  • K-12 Education
  • Higher Education
  • Tribal Education
  • Entrepreneur
  • Social Enterprise
  • Economic Development

Geographic spread (by county)

Alamosa, Denver, El Paso, Garfield, Jefferson, Lake, Lincoln, Mesa, Moffat, Montezuma, Morgan, Otero, Phillips, Routt, Yuma

2022 Fellows


Letitica Bancroft

Fort Morgan


Chris Beasley

Colorado Springs


Shelby Clark



Lupita Garcia



Dave Goe

Grand Junction


Jennifer Holloway



Gregory Kolomitz

La Junta


Gillian Laycock



Gloria Perez



Esteban Salazar


2021 Fellows


Brisa Chavez



Trisha Herman



Sherrell Lang



Azarel Madrigal



Mathew Mendisco



Adrian Mendoza


Scroll to Top